Self-Grooming, University Student Edition.

28 Mar

Hey there!

It has been a relatively rainy and bitter first week of Spring for me! At least I am finally able to switch the winter jacket for a lighter coat! With all these weather swings, so typical of March, I could not help but wonder how to take care of my hair and skin with this wind, sun, and rain. Thing is, that no matter how nicely you are dressed, if your hair looks dull and messy, if your skin is blemished, and your nails are poorly groomed, all your efforts to go out with a nice modern outfit are meaningless!

These are the three most important parts you have to constantly take care of. Of course, when it comes to grooming, you should again try and find out what works best for your personality. There is an endless number of options that experimenting is a must!

“I changed three different colors before I decided to stick with red,” said Xhulia, an Albanian sophomore at AUBG. “I believe that red fits me best. It makes me feel more confident because it is a very distinct color that speaks for itself.”

Xhulia Rami

Xhulia Rami

An interesting hairstyle is always the easiest way to stand out and make a statement.  The kind of hair we have speaks more about ourselves than any other part of our looks. It can make us look glamorous and pretty, but can also make us look bad and poorly-groomed.  So when thinking about a new hairstyle, it is always a good idea to talk with a hairdresser.

“I love extravagant hairstyles and I’m really into trying out new styles,” said Dayana, a Bulgarian sophomore at AUBG. “The hairstyle makes the whole look of a person. I prefer interesting styles because they best describe me and my personality. I feel good in my skin when I have a distinct hair that everyone notices.”

Dayana Yancheva

Dayana Yancheva

As for nails, the options are even more. There are no rules on how to shape them and take care of them, except one – they should look nice. Whether the nails are short or long, pointed or square-like, good manicured hands speak of themselves about a person. You do not have to go to extremes and spend a fortune in the beauty salons, but a weekly care for your nails at home would help you feel nicer!

I like my nails short because I just don’t feel comfortable with long ones,” shared Dayana. “However, I take care of them regularly and change the nail polish. There is no worse thing than chipped nails and ugly old manicure!”

One of the most important things to take care of is the face. Clean skin and a justifiable amount of make-up can bring life to your expression like nothing else! Professional cleaning from time to time, combined with quality cosmetics is the best for the skin. Again, you do not have to overdo things, just stick to the basics and provide some special care to your face no more than once a month and enjoy the results!

“I don’t like applying too much make-up to my face daily,” said Xhulia. “For every day I stick to a simple black eyeliner and a lipstick. I do not even use foundation. Of course, when I’m going out it’s a whole different situation. My roommates and I spend hours in front of the mirror together trying out different styles! It’s so much fun!”

Indeed, you cannot look outstanding by just putting on an up-to-date outfit. Taking care of your body and grooming yourself is the best you can do for your attractiveness! It does not take so long as shopping, nor it is so time-consuming, but the results are worth it. There are no better embellishments to a nice outfit than a shiny skin, lively hair, and neat nails.

More of our talks about self-grooming in the video!

If you liked this post, follow me on Facebook and Twitter! Thank you!

4 Responses to “Self-Grooming, University Student Edition.”

  1. Iva March 28, 2013 at 6:47 am #

    I couldn’t agree with you more – ugly hair, nails and skin, messy eye brows, could ruin even the most appealing outfit.

  2. Must Have Boxes March 28, 2013 at 10:59 pm #

    Love your style!

    – KW
    http://musthaveboxes.com

    • mireladineva March 29, 2013 at 1:27 pm #

      Thank you! Hope I keep your interest! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. All Good Things (Don’t) Come to an End | A Matter of Fashion - April 24, 2013

    […] you out of the box! “I changed three different colors before I decided to stick with red,” said Xhulia, an Albanian sophomore at AUBG. “I believe that red fits me best. It makes me feel more confident […]

Leave a Reply

Being a Nomad

why do I live this way?Roma perspective

Art WallBlog

Fashion & Moda gallery-download & listen music & Songs

Monday's Child.

emily-jane / instagram : @mondayschildblog / twitter : @_mondayschild

AUBG Feminism

What is life like for a woman in different parts of the world?

AUBG livehealthy

How organic is Bulgaria?

Children of the 90s

How did they grow up around the world?

Become a Big "Loser"

How can I lose 15 pounds over 3 months?

My Travelogue

Where to go next?

Melody Moves to Bulgaria

Teaching, filming and observing Bulgaria while working at the American University in Blagoevgrad

Janelistyle

practice makes you perfect!

AUBG Doc Class Presents: Our Short Films

Films by emerging documentary filmmakers at the American University in Bulgaria

Iva's Fashion

A blog devoted to timeless fashion.

Vanilla Jungle

What does your closet say about you?

Eyedigits's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Addieshutup

Crazy Antics of A Deluded Gradute

AUBG's Got Talent

Who are the students with hidden talents at AUBG?

