Fashion is What You Make Out of It

27 Feb

“Focus on the journey, not the destination. Joy is found not in finishing an activity but in doing it.”

–        Greg Anderson

Six weeks ago, I started a journey. I was curious to know what fashion is for people and whether it is possible to find out who they are just by observing their clothes. It has been extremely entertaining and engaging to look for people with a distinct opinion on fashion; what was even funnier, was to actually talk with them.

Dimitar Balabanov

Dimitar Balabanov

We live in such a materialistic society nowadays, that people hardly judge you on your awesome personality right away – a conclusion I came up with after my talk with Dimitar. A very observant person, he says he always pays attention on how people look. However, it is not simply about wearing the latest trends; it is about wearing the right clothes for you, the ones that you feel confident in.

“I think the important thing in this whole life is that you just gotta feel good,” said Dimitar deliberately. “If wearing a certain type of clothes makes you feel better, then why not, you know.”

I did not really expect to have a fulfilling conversation on fashion with a guy, but Dimitar really helped me realize that even guys care about how they are dressed, and that people always greet you by the way you look. How they send you away, though, is up to you.

Media nowadays has a highly adverse effect on shaping the ideals of femininity and beauty. Advertising has caused sexism, eating disorders, and gender violence with women being the main victims. According to Boryana, it is sad that today many people confuse fashion with style to such extent that sometimes the outcomes are catastrophic.

Boryana in Prague, Czech Republic

Boryana Kaisheva

“You have to establish your own style and your own fashion, and not be a slave of what other people wear or what other people believe is fashionable and cool,” said Boryana.

Fashion is a form of art. What we see on the catwalk is closer to a theatrical performance than to real life. For this reason, designers’ fashion shows should serve as inspiration to people, not as a dogma to follow blindly. So find out what works best for you, and use fashion as a tool to underscore your features, not to suppress your individuality!

For me personally, the greatest jolt of inspiration can be found in street fashion. The best thing about it is that just by paying attention to the people on the street one can easily find something special from the outfits of people of the same age. When I talked with Dayana, she shared she believes that if fashion turns into an addiction, it will deprive you from your individuality and uniqueness. From her I learned that clothing is nothing more than a way to express a state of mind and a certain attitude.

Dayana Yancheva

Dayana Yancheva

“For me fashion is a way to express my identity. I don’t like clothes that everyone wears because I believe that such fads take away from who I am.”

To be good-looking and innovative, one should try to escape from the fashion dogmas imposed by a multi-million business because style is inherent and has nothing to do with magazines and TV shows. The icons of street fashion are real girls and boys and that is why it has become a jolt of inspiration for a great number of young people! The thought makes me smile and hope for a future without fashion clones!

Talking about street style, I want to focus on its fashion queens – the “It girls” or the girls everyone wants to be. They are the perfect examples of people, who have their own style, play with fashion, and create outstanding outfits. So I met with Erilda to talk about style as a way of living. She told me that this is not only her way to make a statement about who she is, but also a way to feel confident.

Erilda Hoxha, Personal Archive

Erilda Hoxha, Personal Archive

“In the morning, when I’m getting ready for the day, I never think about other people. I just have to look good for myself, to feel pretty and confident.”

This reminds me a lot of what Dimitar said. In the end it all sums up to feeling good in the clothes you are wearing and how you are wearing them. Always remember that even the most expensive and up-to-date ones can make you look terrible, if they do not suit your body shape and personality. For this reason, the best way to find your own style and learn what works best for you is to experiment!

Dimitar, Boryana, Dayana, and Erilda were great interlocutors and shared very valuable insights into the matter of fashion. They all showed me that clothing can be a great way to make a good first impression, to feel good among other people, to express a state of mind, and to look pretty and confident. However, nobody should go to extremes because there might be an adverse and catastrophic effect.

I am still in the middle of my journey, yet I have learned a lot. I do not know where it will end, but I hope it never will because I am more than excited about sharing my discoveries with you!

To summarize my opinion so far, I created a fun video including a whole new bunch of people!

I hope you like my work so far, because I really enjoyed my journey!

For more information and updates, you can follow me on Twitter or Facebook!

7 Responses to “Fashion is What You Make Out of It”

  1. fashi0n4 February 28, 2013 at 1:31 am #

    good job!!

    • Lilly February 28, 2013 at 9:47 am #

      Aw, this video made me laugh! Very smart and funny! You also seem to be having quite a blog here! Following right away 🙂

  2. XhuliaRami February 28, 2013 at 10:35 am #

    awesooooooome be 😀

  3. chrisli89 February 28, 2013 at 11:10 am #

    I really like your video. Good job!

  4. pauljmc220 February 28, 2013 at 11:11 am #

    Great song for the vid 🙂

  5. Nikoleta February 28, 2013 at 11:12 am #

    Perfect job! I loved it! 🙂

  6. evgeniyakoseva February 28, 2013 at 11:12 am #

    Mirelka, I really enjoy reading these rather unusual fashion posts. =)

Leave a Reply

Being a Nomad

why do I live this way?Roma perspective

Art WallBlog

Fashion & Moda gallery-download & listen music & Songs

Monday's Child.

emily-jane / instagram : @mondayschildblog / twitter : @_mondayschild

AUBG Feminism

What is life like for a woman in different parts of the world?

AUBG livehealthy

How organic is Bulgaria?

Children of the 90s

How did they grow up around the world?

Become a Big "Loser"

How can I lose 15 pounds over 3 months?

My Travelogue

Where to go next?

Melody Moves to Bulgaria

Teaching, filming and observing Bulgaria while working at the American University in Blagoevgrad

Janelistyle

practice makes you perfect!

AUBG Doc Class Presents: Our Short Films

Films by emerging documentary filmmakers at the American University in Bulgaria

Iva's Fashion

A blog devoted to timeless fashion.

Vanilla Jungle

What does your closet say about you?

Eyedigits's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Addieshutup

Crazy Antics of A Deluded Gradute

AUBG's Got Talent

Who are the students with hidden talents at AUBG?

