A Perception of Fashion, Male Edition.

30 Jan

Dear bloggers and readers,

It has been a hell of a week for me, even though it’s still the beginning of the semester! However, as a devoted blogger, I have promised to post regularly and find all sorts of people to talk about all sorts of topics with. Still, I never thought that the first person I will interview for my fashion blog, will be a young man! Who says fashion is only for women? Just because guys talk less about it, doesn’t necessarily mean they don’t care at all!

And here I am, writing a post on a young lad’s opinion on fashion! Dimitar Balabanov is an overly-talkative sophomore in AUBG, majoring in Business Administration and Economics. However, his area of interests spreads to a wide range of topics. You can even listen to him hosting in several shows on Radio AURA – a perfect hobby for such a gregarious person!

Despite Dimitar’s versatile interests, we met to talk primarily about the impact fashion has on his everyday life. It turned out that for him, clothing is an important tool to show who you are at first sight.

Dimitar_Balabanov

Copyright: Radina Roussev

“We live in such a materialistic society nowadays, that […] people will definitely judge you according to what kind of clothes you’re wearing, or how you’re wearing them. […] There is a saying, at least in Bulgaria, that people greet you by the way you look and send you away by the way you treated them.”

A very observant person, as he defines himself, Dimitar always pays attention on people’s looks and behavior. Since he believes that clothing says a million words about a person, he feels like he can find out a lot, even about a stranger, just by his or her looks.

“If I have classes with someone, who made an impression to me, […] and what kind of clothes he is wearing, I’d even […] notice, if he changes his shoes or something like that.”

Dimitar describes his style as skinny, casual, and simple. He particularly likes shoes and even reads GQ! You can’t imagine how surprised I was after the following revelation he made!

390103_10151139661983918_974762134_n

Dimitar at Radio Aura’s Halloween Party, 2012

“I’m a little bit vain. […] For example my father and my mother, especially my father, used to make fun of me because even if I go to the shop, […] I wouldn’t go with […] my sweatpants.”

“I think the important thing in this whole life is that you just gotta feel good,” said Dimitar deliberately. “If wearing a certain type of clothes makes you feel better, then why not, you know.”

Yet, he believes that we have to follow certain norms and pick our clothes depending on where we are going, so that we are well-accepted in nowadays’ society. A little consideration of clothing before going somewhere is always a smart decision in order to avoid moments of awkwardness and embarrassment.

The outcome from my short conversation with Dimitar proved that fashion does matter, irrespective of the gender, that the way we dress always has a significant impact on how people perceive us, and that clothing is a funny and enjoyable way to make a statement to the society!

Here’s some more of Dimitar’s insights!

Follow me on Twitter on: https://twitter.com/afashionmatter

Like my Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/AMatterOfFashion

3 Responses to “A Perception of Fashion, Male Edition.”

  1. Liliana February 1, 2013 at 11:23 am #

    Very shortly this website will be famous among all blogging users,
    due to it’s good articles or reviews

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fashion is What You Make Out of It | A Matter of Fashion - February 27, 2013

    […] judge you on your awesome personality right away – a conclusion I came up with after my talk with Dimitar. A very observant person, he says he always pays attention on how people look. However, it is not […]

  2. All Good Things (Don’t) Come to an End | A Matter of Fashion - April 24, 2013

    […] really matters and what one can acquire from a person’s style. My first interviewee was a boy. Dimitar Balabanov taught me that everyone cares to a certain degree about the way they look, regardless of the […]

Leave a Reply

Being a Nomad

why do I live this way?Roma perspective

Art WallBlog

Fashion & Moda gallery-download & listen music & Songs

Monday's Child.

emily-jane / instagram : @mondayschildblog / twitter : @_mondayschild

AUBG Feminism

What is life like for a woman in different parts of the world?

AUBG livehealthy

How organic is Bulgaria?

Children of the 90s

How did they grow up around the world?

Become a Big "Loser"

How can I lose 15 pounds over 3 months?

My Travelogue

Where to go next?

Melody Moves to Bulgaria

Teaching, filming and observing Bulgaria while working at the American University in Blagoevgrad

Janelistyle

practice makes you perfect!

AUBG Doc Class Presents: Our Short Films

Films by emerging documentary filmmakers at the American University in Bulgaria

Iva's Fashion

A blog devoted to timeless fashion.

Vanilla Jungle

What does your closet say about you?

Eyedigits's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Addieshutup

Crazy Antics of A Deluded Gradute

AUBG's Got Talent

Who are the students with hidden talents at AUBG?

